CrackBerry Newbie

Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default 9900: MP3 playback through stock music app too much treble / too sibilant even with high bit rates

A new 9900 owner.
    Concerned that the mp3 playback quality is poor and far too bright through the stock music app. This is for high bit rate (ranging from 192 upto 320 kbps) files both through headphones and through my car stereo - connected through simple line out from headphone socket.
    Have tried using the EQ settings but none are precise enough to tune out the sibilance and leave a good neutral balance.
    Anyone else experiencing the same or is it just my phone?
    Are there any other music apps I can use with better EQs?
    Thanks
    CrackBerry Abuser

PIN
    t of Beer?

Default Re: 9900: MP3 playback through stock music app too much treble / too sibilant even with high bit ra

dude, I've been complaining about this sort of thing for 2 years now...
    I was spoiled with my W995a SE and other W-series phones that had exceptional audio... I only hope the BB10 hardware takes a priority approach to entertainment... in case they haven't figured it out yet...

So, sorry I can't help but I can empathise...
    CrackBerry Addict

Global Posts
    843 Global Posts

Default 9900: MP3 playback through stock music app too much treble / too sibilant even with high bit rates

Its a lame glitch in the 9900. Not sure if it is OS based. Can anyone confirm if it happens on the Torch? Pretty lame to go from a 9700 that had autofocus and a solid music player to the 9900.

One work around is to quit the music app and start it again after stopping or pausing the music.

Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    CrackBerry User

Default Re: 9900: MP3 playback through stock music app too much treble / too sibilant even with high bit ra

I've had this same issue, but it was only if I paused it, or started a song over from the beginning. If I skipped to the next song, it sounded great again. Strange bug.