Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. billydavis224's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    5 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default 9900 Display trouble (recent screen change)

    i have recently repaired my blackberry after it having a broken lcd display, i dismantled the phone an i replaced the lcd display, i put the phone back together but now the screen will not show although the keypad does light up when powered om, could anyone help me?
    many thanks , i have not tried any form of safemode, is this a problem with the way i fitted it? also the red light on top of the blackberry actually shows up red,before powering on
  2. Berry_Pink's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    732 Posts
    Global Posts
    763 Global Posts
    PIN
    75E06EB6
    #2  

    Default

    do the numbers match on the back of both lcd screens?
    I possess a device, in my pocket, that is capable of accessing the entirety of information known to man.
    I use it to look at pictures of cats and get in arguments with strangers.
  3. billydavis224's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    5 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    im not sure ive only changed the lcd digitilzer the screen lights up now, but no picture, and the red light stays on and does not turn off
    thankyou for your reply
  4. billydavis224's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    5 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #4  

    Default

    are the numbers on the ribbon?
  5. eddy_berry's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,433 Posts
    #5  

    Default Re: 9900 Display trouble (recent screen change)

    Happened to me a while back on an old 8900. Dissassemble and check connections again. That's what I did and it worked. The screen connector was not seated properly but looked perfectly fine. Push lightly and wiggle it slightly once it is seated. I hope the connector didn't get damaged or anything. Careful and good luck.
    For the best typing experience only one brand does it the best. That brand is BlackBerry.
    BlackBerry. Nobody likes a typo.

    Check out my collection of CB and BB wallpapers
  6. billydavis224's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    5 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #6  

    Default

    ive lost a screw will this make a differnce?
  7. PALeafs67's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    673 Posts
    PIN
    28519AFC
    #7  

    Default

    If a screw is missing.. press down lightly on the screen when your device is powered up,i know when i was doing repairs on other BBs just to check them that was a issue the screen has to be secured to the main board to work properly.
    Paul Atherton
  8. billydavis224's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    5 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #8  

    Default

    it seems secure, i now haveno light coming from the lcd display shall i just buy a whole new lcd display or isit somehthing to do with my motherboard now
  9. alannd's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #9  

    Default same issue with replacement screen

    did you manage to get your display working in the end?

    I'm going to have another go at assembly and see if this works after pushing everything in a little tighter.

    I was just wondering if that worked for you?
  10. Krack-Berri's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    212 Posts
    Global Posts
    214 Global Posts
    #10  

    Default

    i just changed mine a few days back. every time i would put some pressure into screwing in the screws the screen would blank out, it was working fine and when i changed the back chasis plate, something happened after that, the screen would go blank if i pressed the back with a bit of pressure,, so yeah it does need to touch somewhere properly, not sure where though lol..
  11. Krack-Berri's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    212 Posts
    Global Posts
    214 Global Posts
    #11  

    Default

    becareful not to over do the screws, as the chasis screw thingys (holes or whatever you call them) wear in and you could end up with the screw turning and turning forever
  12. ifraser's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,531 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    From your description I would out my bets on the wrong screen number. The 9900 has 2 different ones. Bit like the 9700 also used to.

    Take the old screen and look at the back. It will have 001 or 002 at the end of the number.

    If you don't have the old one then you may just have to get the other model than u have.

    Posted via CB10
    Bold 9900 with BL 7.1 BL Ultimate RC22
    Blackberry Z10 with OS 10.3.1.710 Official os
    Berrylicio.us Staff Member

Similar Threads

  1. Home Screen Changed on 9900
    By arevirnor in forum BlackBerry Bold 9930/9900
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-15-2011, 11:13 AM
  2. How to change MENU list display to ICON list display on the screen?
    By ICJ in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2011, 10:16 PM
  3. Changing Icons / Apps that display on main screen
    By Just2Easy in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-24-2009, 08:44 PM
  4. Changing Icons / Apps that display on main screen
    By Just2Easy in forum BlackBerry OS Apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-24-2009, 08:44 PM
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-31-2007, 02:29 AM

Posting Permissions