CrackBerry User

Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default Please help me identify the specific LCD screen model for my 9700

So I regularly buy faulty phones off Ebay, fix them and sell them on. I have some experience with repairing Blackberry's but nothing too extensive.

I have here a Blackberry which turns on fine, recognised by DM etc but the reported fault was that the screen doesn't work.

Upon inspection the screen looked intact with a thin plastic protector on it. It was also missing a few screws that hold the bezel down. No water damage observed. Both LIT's are white and no visible corrosion can be seen on the board (if they sneakily put new LIT's).

I believe the original owner had damaged the screen and replaced it without realising that you needed a specific model therefore they sold it as having a faulty LCD.

I have contacted the seller but he has no idea who the original owner was that done this, if it did happen.

I also note that upon disconnecting the LCD ribbon cable it teared slightly. Whether this is due to me being clumsy or it was already like that before hand could also be the reason.

Now is there any way to identify which specific screen fits onto this Blackberry Bold 9700?

Below are all the serial numbers and other text printed on the main board
    • Top left below camera flash connector - C1
    • Top right below Light Sensor(?) - PCB-21481-010
    • Middle Right underneath where the LCD is placed - UT009C 94V-0 1007
    • Top left of keypad - CHINA HDW-23096-001
    • Right of trackpad - 07110 107747-01-2
    • Behind the "FAULTY LCD" - LCD-23269-004/111 VA100205GM11

...and under where the battery is placed:
    • PRD-17739-014 Blackberry 9700 RCM71UW
    • Made in Hungary 2