Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
    CrackBerry Newbie

Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default Blackberry 9700 Media Card Reader

Hi everyone,

I am new to crackberry.com. Anyway, I am having a very annoying problem with my bold. My media card is not working. I like to take pics and use it for music. I have tried everything possible except going to fix it at the local cell repair shop for 75 cad. (which includes the replacement of the media card reader)

I have tried the following:

1. upgraded to OS 6.0.0.418 - still did not recognize the sd card

2. verify whether the sd card is corrupted - I can access all the pictures/videos/music through the computer using a sd reader

3. formatted the sd card - no luck

4. used a friends SD card and nothing is reading - it does not detect the presence of a sd card

5. put my micro sd card into my friend's bold 9700 and it works

6. tried to use a 1gb and 2gb sd card and no luck either.

I'm using the 2gb micro sd card that came with the phone.

Any suggestions? or is there a DIY to replace the micro sd card reader? Is it hard to do?

I've searched many forums but I cant find one that talks about replacement of the micro sd card reader.

Thanks in advance!
    CrackBerry User

Global Posts
    43 Global Posts

Hi,
    I am no expert at all, but what struck me was that you have updated to OS6 for the Bold 9700 - which I believe will be an unofficial/leaked version. This would be my first thought as to why the SD card will not function correctly.
    I hope this is somewhat useful.

Mark.
    CrackBerry Abuser

Hi there,

Best thing you can do is to take your phone into a repair shop. It does sound like your media card reader is defective, there's nothing much you can do about that.

Quote Originally Posted by tmarkt utd View Post
    Hi,