Apparently my ability to benefit from my shiny new 8GB micro-sd is hamstrung by my OS -- I'm running v4.2.2.176, and I've been advised to upgrade my OS. I read the crackberry 101 lecture on doing so, and the instructions involve the BB DSW. But I have been told by the IT dept NOT to install the DSW (we have BES here). Is there any way to upgrade the OS without using DSW? Thanks!
    04-13-09 09:20 AM
    Sorry. Only the 4.5 OS has the OTA update feature. You need Desktop Manager to get to 4.5.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    04-13-09 10:21 AM
    Here is a thought. Load it at home. Be careful. I'm a BES admin and periodicaly check the software versions of the BB on my network.

04-13-09 10:23 AM
    Can't the IT / BES peeps at your office do the upgrade for you?
    04-13-09 10:56 AM
    You do not need to load desktop manager. The download package comes with apploader located at C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader\Loader.exe which will load 4.5 on your device when you delete the vendor.xml file.

Loader.exe backs up your current configuration and databases, loads 4.5, then restores the databases. FYI: you **may** have to get a new activation code, so that might give it away.
    04-13-09 11:29 AM
    Still be wary if it is a work supplied phone. A good BES admin will easily be able to tell if you upgrade your OS.

04-13-09 02:51 PM
    Thanks all! @Sandsjh-how do I delete vendor.xml? And what is an activation code? (Sorry, I'm pretty much a noob.)
    04-13-09 03:47 PM
    Can't the IT / BES peeps at your office do the upgrade for you?
    Still be wary if it is a work supplied phone. A good BES admin will easily be able to tell if you upgrade your OS.

Thanks all! @Sandsjh-how do I delete vendor.xml? And what is an activation code? (Sorry, I'm pretty much a noob.)