Hi all,
    I'm a newbie, this is my first post. My crackberry fell down an elevator shaft 5 flights.

I didn't hear it shatter and the battery was just about dead.

I have a series of questions, so please be kind...

It's going to cost me about $200 + to get the elevator company to get me the phone.
    1. what are the chances it will be working?
    2. if it lives down there for a few days to a week without battery power will I loose all the information (emails to my blackberry address, contacts, etc...)?
    3. Could a crash like that wipe all the information out of it anyway?
    4. if I do get it, and it's broken is it worth it to get it fixed?

Thanks for any and all advice!
    Janet
    04-08-08 04:54 PM
    1. The chances might be kind of slim.
    2. If the battery dies it will still retain the info. on it.
    3. No, unless is smashed into tiny pieces
    4. Depends how broken it is. Do you have insurance?
    04-08-08 05:11 PM
    Was it in a rubber case? For $200 you might be better off to buy a new one!
    04-08-08 05:14 PM
    I JUST took off the rubber case today because I needed to pull the phone in and out of my pocket.

a new 8830 would cost about $600.
    04-08-08 05:16 PM
    Chances are, besides the fact that it probably broke, there is probably water at the bottom of the shaft, and it will be water damaged. I would put the 200+ to another phone, check eBay, 8830s go for cheaper than 600.

just my 2cents, thats what i would do.
    04-08-08 05:20 PM
    best suggestion would be to buy a new one, or call the company and get another assuming you got insurance from the wireless , then you could always do a back-up from your pc (none of your info would be lost then ), also assuming you did that on a regular basis , other than this ... well you're on your own
    04-08-08 05:45 PM
    you could try going through the insurance and tell them it was stolen
    04-08-08 05:56 PM
    you could try going through the insurance and tell them it was stolen