Okay, got my 8830 in and have been cruising along very nicely thanks to many of the posts and blogs I have read here already. The other day I updated my OS to 176 and downloaded the BB Desktop Manager 4.3 per the sticky on this forum.

I started trying to sync my POP3 account at work. No problem for contacts, calendars, to-do lists, etc. However, the option to "Reconcile Messages" is greyed out! If I understand I have to be able to select this option to sync all my emails between my Outlook client (2003 SP1 version, 11.6359.6360) and BB Desktop Manager.

What gives? I am new to BB land and was loving it until this snag. Any and all help is much appreciated.

02-22-08 08:33 AM
    You cannot sync mail and messages on a BIS account, only Calendar, Address Book, Memos and Tasks will sync.

For mail reconcile, you need BES.
    02-22-08 08:52 AM
    WTF? So there is no way I can sync emails between my Outlook and BB? That seems ********. I can understand not being able to do it wirelessly because that is the point of the BES but if I am hooked to a USB cable it seems logical I should be able to sync somehow.

Part of the appeal was being able to send/receive emails and staying connected to my office when I wasn't in the office. That would include having past email history with me.

Do WM devices offer a sync capability? Perhaps I chose the wrong phone for me.
    02-22-08 09:01 AM
    You don't have to cuss.

No you can't sync mail and messages on BIS via cable. It is a quite simple matter to know before purchasing the device.

Perhaps you did choose the wrong device. It happens.
    02-22-08 09:03 AM
    You can use Desktop Redirector. This will forward your desktop emails to your BB.
    02-22-08 09:31 AM
    I apologize for the language. I was just very disappointed and frustrated as I thought the phone did this. I realize there is a plethora of information out there but I kept hearing about people syncing their email and thought they meant their normal email.