I am a newb to blackberry. I use my blackberry to send/receive emails primarily through GMAIL (average of 5-10 emails Receiving , hardly any outgoing). 50-75 or so text messages. But even with a full charge, it only lasts me less than a day. Other applications i have are as follows:

pacman (game, hardly used)
    Mapquest GPS , only used when needed
    Google Maps
    BB light (currently disabled)
    BB today (i wonder if this is causing problems)
    BB Weather
    Opera

I dont know which application is still running int he backgroudn causing allt his problem. i asked a guy at train station and he goes, My BB 8830 lasts 3 to 4 days on battery !!!! I was/am jelousss
    03-02-08 09:13 PM
    welcome to crackberry!

your battery life will get a bit better after a few days to a week.. mine sure did. now it lasts longer than a day.. but i dont use it nearly like you do apparently.

the weather app i used to run would run it kinda low on juice. i've got to where now when i'm at work i disable my internet connection when not needed.. that helped alot, also disable GPS and Blue Tooth when not using them either (actually disable GPS in the settings menus, dont just shut the app down).

also make sure you pull up the menu and choose close/exit. if you hit the power button till the app goes away, its likely bubbling in the background.

hold down the shift key plus Back button and it pulls up a task list of sorts, while holding it down select every thing open and open what ever app it is menu and choose Exit/Close for each one..only things that will remain open are..
    bb messenger
    browser
    home screen
    phone.
    03-02-08 09:23 PM
    Hmmm, GPS does drain your battery pretty fast. Based on what you have said, it couldn't be your emails since you hardly receving incoming emails. How about your Bluetooth? Do you leave it on? When not in use, turn it off.