Hello Everyone,

I am a first time BlackBerry newbie with a 8830 Word Edition. This forum has been a great tool to help be configure my BB the way I would want it. I am having an awful time with my GPS receiver.

Out of the box the GPS would NEVER work. My provider requested I go to their page and download the "latest" firmware, v4.2.2.196. After installing that the GPS worked intermittently. I originally had hopes of using the GPS in the BB for auto navigation as that is the way it is advertised on BB's web site. While standing outdoors in an open environment I can wait 5, 10, 15 minutes and never get a GPS signal. Sometimes I do, but I lose after being in my vehicle for a few minutes.

I have read how BB recommends of "refreshing" my GPS, but I do not have that option. I have removed my battery and done a number of reboots. Sometimes when I open BB maps it immediately says that it is unable to get a GPS lock, sometimes it will search for satellites.

I live in a rural area and have a small/local CDMA cell provider. They report that they do not restrict any features of the phone and state that the GPS receiver is very weak and that intermittent functionality can basically be expected, even when outdoors. I am having a hard time swallowing that. Is this true? Is this the performance that everyone else is experiencing? Are my expectations of using this as an auto GPS unrealistic without an external GPS receiver?

Thanks in advance for your comments!
    08-03-08 09:04 AM
    The aGPS in the 8830 works via a PDE server that resides on the carrier's network and only is accessible if on the carrier's network. If your phone has a tendancy to ROAM or hop on other towers that don't directly belong to your carrier, that might be your issue here.
    08-03-08 12:10 PM