Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    CrackBerry Newbie

Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default Do you need a Data plan?

I am new to BlackBerries and am awaiting my 8830(it should be here tomorrow). I currently use a Samsung i730 and I am able to stop my phone from connecting to the internet. I was just wondering, if I have no need for email push or no need for web browsing is there anyway I can turn off the way my bb connects to the internet or is it an always on device and I need the data plan?

I just hope I didn't sound to confusing.

Thanks.
    CrackBerry Abuser

The only thing I am confused about is why you would want this device if you don't want email or internet connectivity?
    BB 8830
    RIP BB 7290
    CrackBerry Newbie

Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

I like having the pda functions(task, notes, calendar, etc) which are much better in these phones than in a regular cell phones.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    Distinguished

Global Posts
    14,779 Global Posts
    PIN
    Pin Point Accuracy

If you don't get a data plan, then it's just the same as having a regular mobile...

But, like dlathem said, what's the point? Rhetorical, of course...
    CrackBerry Newbie

Talking Lot to do without a data plan

If you do not plan on using the internet you just don't get a data plan. By the way, I could not read books on my cell phone. I can on my BB without a data connection. I could not type a Word document. I can on my BB without a data connection. I did not have as good a choice of backgrounds for my cell phone, but now I can use anything that I can put in my pictures folder on my computer, including Webshots pictures. A Blackberry is great for those us that were using a cell phone and a pda. There's also a better choice of games and software than you get with a phone and a much better battery life.