Quick question... I am new to the whole blackberry thing but I have always wanted one. Come to find out, my work is currently re-vamping all of the equipment and is giving away BBs to people who want them. (How I got my 8703e)
    The question is, the unit is set up on the BES Server and I can't seem to get it to do anything else. I am trying to set this up so that I can transfer my account to it. Is there a way I can remove the BES server information altogether and install the BIS?
    Bobby
    01-11-08 10:55 AM
    Bobby, if your company put you on their BES, the very last thing you want to do is remove it.

1. They will know. The BB BES admins will know. They can log everything you do with your device.
    If they have it locked down to disallow certain things, it is for a reason. It is done via an IT Policy which they push to the device.
    2. You could lose your job, not following corporate policy, etc.,

Good luck.
    Last edited by jsanders; 01-11-08 at 11:26 AM.
    01-11-08 11:02 AM
    Well, let me rephrase a little bit. They gave these phone to us because they were going to throw them away or donate them, so I am not included in the "Big Wig" group. I am just trying to I guess basicall format this thing so that I can have it for my personal use.
    I really need to know what I should do with this thing to make it like I just bought it from the store(remove the policy and what not) I am new to these things so bear with me. Once I get this going, it will have nothing to do with my work.
    01-11-08 11:10 AM
    Even still, you will really do need to ask your BES admins to "push a blank IT Policy to you", and ask them to remove the BB form the BES. There are instructions here to remove the IT Policy yourself, it is simple, but as soon as you, and the Policy gets pushed back to you automatically, it all starts over again.

Remove IT Policy - BlackBerryFAQ

Good luck.
    01-11-08 11:28 AM