Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. Frostedfrank's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Global Posts
    23 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Ringtones /SMS tones showing in Music

    So I put a few tones for messages and email etc. My issue is they are showing up in my music which is pretty annoying. Putting songs on shuffle and having ringtones play is annoying.
    Any way to fix this?
  2. Frostedfrank's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Global Posts
    23 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #2  

    Default

    no one else has this issue?
  3. mooda's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    634 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    it is happening to me as well. Unfortunatly there is no way to filter them out. i hope it comes in later builds
  4. clipskid's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    219 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    I am also having this issue. And when u delete them off your music playlist it deletes them from your phone as well.. *sigh*
  5. clipskid's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    219 Posts
    #5  

    Default

    _____ bump
  6. Bigbacala's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    219 Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Create another directory on your phone.
    Name it Sounds or Ringtones or whatever and then move these files to that directory.
  7. clipskid's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    219 Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by domcel View Post
    Create another directory on your phone.
    Name it Sounds or Ringtones or whatever and then move these files to that directory.
    Ya unfortunately that doesn't work. they still show up in your music playlist
  8. clipskid's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    219 Posts
    #8  

    Default Re: Ringtones /SMS tones showing in Music

    Someone must know how?
  9. timmy t's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,311 Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frostedfrank View Post
    no one else has this issue?
    This happens on my OS7 Curve.
  10. clipskid's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    219 Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Found a Soulution!!
    Hope this works for everyone. Go into your ringtones on your cpu (im assuming you have them there). For each ringtone you want on your Z10 you will need to rename the file extension from .m4a/.mp3 to .jad
    Once you have done this all you need to do is transfer the file from your cpu to your sdcard (not your device, because when u search tones in your z10 it only offers the root folder tones in the device, not added tones).

    i just made a ringtones folder on my sdcard, works like a charm!
    p.s If you transfer by bluetooth you will have to go into file manager>device>downloads and "move" the ringtone to yor sdcard

    Happy Sunday!!

    *edit*
    I have also found that if you just remove the file extension all together (no rename) it works as well
    Last edited by clipskid; 02-10-2013 at 09:38 PM.
  11. UberBlackBerry's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    74 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    clipskid you were correct changing the files with the extension .jad works for tones and takes it out of music . But for the phone used as a ringtone it cant find the .jad files so they cant be used for your phone ring tone i had to change back to m4a. I also tried without any extention and .ogg then they show up as assignable but back to the same problem still showing up in music.
    Do you know what the BB10 file extension is for native ringtones maybe if we find that we can rename with that extension and fix the problem with all our tones showing up in music?
  12. clipskid's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    219 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by UberBlackBerry View Post
    clipskid you were correct changing the files with the extension .jad works for tones and takes it out of music . But for the phone used as a ringtone it cant find the .jad files so they cant be used for your phone ring tone i had to change back to m4a. I also tried without any extention and .ogg then they show up as assignable but back to the same problem still showing up in music.
    Do you know what the BB10 file extension is for native ringtones maybe if we find that we can rename with that extension and fix the problem with all our tones showing up in music?
    Ya you're right, my solution only works if you want to make it a notification tone, not phone ringer..*sigh*
    The bb10 file extensions are indeed .m4a but blackberry has them buried in a root folder that i haven't been able to access yet. This folder is probably what allows them to have bb10 tones (.m4a) without being in the music
  13. cpanagio's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    44 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    I moved them to my existing Ringtones folder on my media card (from my 9810) and they do not show up in my Music any longer.

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
  14. clipskid's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    219 Posts
    #14  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cpanagio View Post
    I moved them to my existing Ringtones folder on my media card (from my 9810) and they do not show up in my Music any longer.

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10

    Ya unfortunately this does not work for us. I have all my ringtones in my sdcard's Ringtones folder and if the file extension is not deleted it will show up in the music playlist
  15. cpanagio's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    44 Posts
    #15  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clipskid View Post
    Ya unfortunately this does not work for us. I have all my ringtones in my sdcard's Ringtones folder and if the file extension is not deleted it will show up in the music playlist
    Is the directory SDCard\Ringtones or SDCARD \Blackberry\Ringtones? I know the new OS does not use that Blackberry subdirectory any longer but will still scan and find files in there.

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
  16. clipskid's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    219 Posts
    #16  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cpanagio View Post
    Is the directory SDCard\Ringtones or SDCARD \Blackberry\Ringtones? I know the new OS does not use that Blackberry subdirectory any longer but will still scan and find files in there.

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
    Its SDcard/Ringtones
    ....I will try creating a Blackberry sub directory through my cpu and see what happens

    *edit*
    Ya that didnt work either, smh
  17. titansfederer's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #17  

    Default

    Hey guys, I'm having issues assigning a specific ring tone for my girlfriend when she text messages me
    The one I've set for her when she calls works fine, but not when she texts, even though the ring tone shows up in the drop down box in her contact folder beside messages.

Similar Threads

  1. SMS not showing in hidden today themes
    By mmg in forum BlackBerry Bold 9700 Themes
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 04:08 AM
  2. SMS not showing in TODAY
    By jeremyblaze in forum Storm OS Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-21-2009, 10:47 PM
  3. SMS Text Showing in BB Messenger
    By jm1389 in forum BlackBerry Storm2
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-02-2009, 11:22 AM
  4. Ringtones show up in Music Folder
    By Sorrows in forum BlackBerry Storm
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-27-2009, 04:05 PM
  5. help with SMS not showing in themes
    By lindasg17 in forum Storm 3rd Party Apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-18-2009, 10:04 PM

Posting Permissions