Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 24 of 24
Like Tree5Likes
  • 10 Post By inked18
  • 1 Post By djdragon
  1. inked18's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    302 Posts
    PIN
    24D8CED1
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Clearing the BlackBerry world cache

    I didn't see a post for this so I thought I'd share

    This will help anyone that has an app stuck in the installing loop.

    Open blackberry world

    Swipe down from the top bezel revealing the options menu and then select settings

    Tap on the version number located at the bottom of the screen

    Back out of settings then close the blackberry world app

    Reopen the blackberry world app and voila your cache is cleared

    Posted via CB10
  2. CDM76's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,078 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,080 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    WTF ? It got rid of that annoying spark that I have and cant figure out what app its for.... thanks.
  3. linksy's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    48 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    Thank you, I was wondering how to do this, handy tip.

    Posted via CB10
  4. maxideus's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    36 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    My version number is greyed out, does that mean I have a different App World version?
  5. simonorourke's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    77 Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by maxideus View Post
    My version number is greyed out, does that mean I have a different App World version?
    Mine too.

    I constantly have that annoying spark when opening blackberry world, even when no updates are available.

    Posted via CB10
  6. inked18's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    302 Posts
    PIN
    24D8CED1
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #6  

    Default

    Nope clicking on the version number doesn't actually click or lead you anywhere its just a series of actions that clears the cache they're all greyed out.

    Posted via the Batcave
  7. inked18's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    302 Posts
    PIN
    24D8CED1
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #7  

    Default

    Also I get a spark every other time I open the app I think it's just a glitch in blackberry world and has nothing to do with the cache

    Posted via the Batcave
  8. bigbadben10's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,476 Posts
    #8  

    Default

    Nice one OP...thank you!
  9. djdragon's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,033 Posts
    #9  

    Default

    First, thanks for the tip.

    Second, how the **** did you figure that out.

    Posted via CB10
    Stewartj1 likes this.
  10. Affie36's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    274 Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Thanks for the effort!

    BlackBerry Z10, Posted via CB10
  11. pandapurple's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,115 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    Thank you for sharing. I needed this too.

    Posted via CB10
  12. alan510's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    976 Posts
    Global Posts
    979 Global Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Thanks for the tip. I had a couple of Android ported apps stuck in that installing loop. I eventually did a security wipe to get rid of it. Wish I had known about this trick before. But now I know, just in case....
  13. KemKev's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,574 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,577 Global Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Super cool, thanks. And yeah, how the heck did you find that out?

    Posted via CB10
  14. inked18's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    302 Posts
    PIN
    24D8CED1
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #14  

    Default

    I found it on the blackberry knowledge base. It takes a little searching they're pretty terrible when it comes to organizing anything you really have to be specific I find crackberry a **** of a lot better of a website to resolve any problem with the community then the official blackberry site but here's the link.

    KB33818-Downloaded applications in BlackBerry World are stuck in an Installing state and cannot be cancelled or removed from the download list
  15. Seanis76's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #15  

    Default whats is the latest version of Blackberry world on the Z10?

    whats is the latest version of Blackberry world on the Z10?
  16. Spawn12's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    4,048 Posts
    #16  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Seanis76 View Post
    whats is the latest version of Blackberry world on the Z10?
    4.2.1.109
  17. SirJes's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    4,910 Posts
    Global Posts
    4,913 Global Posts
    #17  

    Default

    Omg the spark is finally gone!!! Thank you!!

    Posted via CB10
  18. pels_17's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    258 Posts
    Global Posts
    263 Global Posts
    #18  

    Default

    It worked! Thank you for the tip.

    Posted via CB10
  19. slparry's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    750 Posts
    PIN
    24D72E0F
    #19  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by inked18 View Post
    I didn't see a post for this so I thought I'd share

    This will help anyone that has an app stuck in the installing loop.

    Open blackberry world

    Swipe down from the top bezel revealing the options menu and then select settings

    Tap on the version number located at the bottom of the screen

    Back out of settings then close the blackberry world app

    Reopen the blackberry world app and voila your cache is cleared

    Posted via CB10
    Worked a treat, thanks
  20. gardenwriter's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #20  

    Default Backberry World hung up

    I have a new Z10, I've got the never-ending circle on the Blackberry World screen, and need to reset, but it won't let me swipe anything down from the top bezel. Nothing there.
    Any ideas?
    Rob
    Hamilton, Canada
    Last edited by gardenwriter; 04-18-13 at 02:25 PM.
  21. Zahi Ali's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    57 Posts
    #21  

    Default

    Thanks for sharing mate!

    Posted via CB10
  22. VR6
    VR6 is offline
    VR6's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,340 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,349 Global Posts
    #22  

    Default

    geez, why didn't they just make it an option called "clear cache" instead of Easter Egging it?
  23. Bowgirl64's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    #23  

    Default

    This made me laugh aloud. Easter Egg. Sorta like unwrapping a Christmas present - so happy when all the sleuthing brings a result.

    Great tip and thank you for all of your sleuthing, inked18.

    Quote Originally Posted by VR6 View Post
    geez, why didn't they just make it an option called "clear cache" instead of Easter Egging it?
  24. damaltor's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    114 Posts
    #24  

    Default

    Hi,

    This does not seem to work on the Q10 (maybe because you have to scroll down to see the version number). Is there a trick, or am i doing it wrong?

Similar Threads

  1. how to clear the blackberry app world cache playbook
    By jmcs1 in forum BlackBerry OS Apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-14-12, 08:24 AM
  2. New to the blackberry world-HELP
    By amymcgowan189 in forum Older BlackBerrys
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-22-08, 03:35 PM
  3. new to the blackberry world!
    By enajera in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-22-08, 11:51 AM
  4. Clearing the Media Player Cache?
    By debowhiz in forum BlackBerry 8830 WE
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-11-08, 05:07 PM
  5. new to the blackberry world
    By lacaco in forum BlackBerry 8830 WE
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-26-07, 10:56 PM

Posting Permissions