Hi Guys,

I'm a network engineer, have been using Blackberry devices for a long time.

Recently I decided that a touch screen, no matter how good just slows me down. I'm very fast on mobile devices with decent physical keyboards and my primary use for my mobile device is work -- therefore I went for the Blackberry Q10.

Anyway, I was disappointed to see that wifi connectivity on the device is extremely unstable -- specifically wifi would drop after about 5 minutes or less. Disabling and re-enabling the wifi results in another connection for another few minutes.

This issue has been discussed before in various bits and pieces but not very thoroughly. I think I have read the majority of what is out there on forums and what have you on this particular issue.

Note that I confirmed that this is not a problem with the wifi network itself and I did verify that connectivity really does drop to the Q10 only even though the Q10 claims it is still connected.

This issue persisted through multiple versions of the OS.

I decided to open a ticket with my carrier who eventually got me over to RIM.

One suggestion was to enable inter-access point handover which is one of the advanced options, however this made no difference.

I went through various other troubleshooting on this and tweaked various other settings both on wifi radio and on the device with resolution.

RIM ultimately decided the next step was to replace the device.

In the meantime I found a workaround which is to change the wifi radio from ng mode to bg mode. This had to be done on the radio not the device. This seems to have worked around the problem. Obviously not a viable solution since there's no way to predict when one may run into a wifi network configured this way...

I'm posting here to check and see if anyone knows more about this issue than I do.