Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
    CrackBerry Newbie

Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default Blackberry 10 android aps run on java?

Hi all,

Been a long time user of the forum but just joined so I could ask this question,

Just been looking on the RIM site for BB10 developers as I was curious of exactly how they plan to allow developers to port aps over from android to blackberry. I can imagine that having this option is going to vastly increase RIM's market share as I have noticed the massive crave for these aps. I was, however, very frustrated to see that they are using Java runtime to do this? After a quick flick through the "Runtime for Apps" website, it appears to me as though they are planning to use java as a simulation tool for android apps? Maybe im confused as I'm not a developer, so I was hoping someone could shed some light onto this? I've always seen java as completely rubbish as an average mobile user. Its slow, choppy and offers a very poor user experience.

Im hoping theirs someone out their who can tell me how wrong I am.

Cheers!
    CrackBerry Genius

Global Posts
    4,723 Global Posts
    PIN
    BBM & Kik (ask)

Default Re: Blackberry 10 android aps run on java?

The Android Player is a virtual machine running on top of the QNX operating system. It supports Android apps developed using the Android SDK, which is Java based. The player is not a full Android OS, just a limited virtual machine (if I remember correctly, Android 2.3 based). It will have problems running Android apps that have been developed using newer SDKs (Android 3.x, 4.x) and apps that use the Android NDK (C++ code).
    RuneCryption - Unique memory game for PlayBook & BB10, now "Built for BlackBerry".
    CrackBerry Addict

Global Posts
    766 Global Posts