Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 17 of 17
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By araskin
  1. Ivan Renette's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    29 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default security wipe after OS 10

    I have downloaded it , installed and did a security wipe to remove a test account, now my BB10 doesn't come up, it shows an icon to connect it to the pc.... Nothing happens PLEASE HELP
  2. 312
    312 is offline
    312's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,020 Posts
    #2  

    Default

    Did you connect it to the PC?
  3. Ivan Renette's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    29 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    yes doesn't recognise the BB
    Thanked by:
    airbatross (02-02-2013) 
  4. the_doughboy's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    19 Posts
    Global Posts
    20 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    I had this happen to me after the last update, basically just plug it into a computer with Desktop Manager and it will eventually fix it when you choose Update after BB Desktop Manager can't connect.
    Blackberry Bold 9900 <- Blackberry Torch
    <- Bold 9700 <- Curve 8900 <- Curve 8310
    <- Blackberry 8800 <- Blackberry 7250
    <- Blackberry 6750 <- RIM 957
    and a Playbook and a BB 10 Alpha
  5. 312
    312 is offline
    312's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,020 Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by the_doughboy View Post
    I had this happen to me after the last update, basically just plug it into a computer with Desktop Manager and it will eventually fix it when you choose Update after BB Desktop Manager can't connect.
    Get BlackBerry Link
  6. cbolton97's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    50 Posts
    Global Posts
    58 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    I'm having the same problem. The desktop software will try to repair the dev alpha, but before it can start the device pops up that icon that says connect a computer and the desktop manager forgets about the device. I'm officially calling my device bricked.
    @cbolton97

    BlackBerry Z10 LE #207
  7. cbolton97's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    50 Posts
    Global Posts
    58 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    From where?
    @cbolton97

    BlackBerry Z10 LE #207
  8. araskin's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    570 Posts
    Global Posts
    579 Global Posts
    #8  

    Default

    i had the same issue. I download the bootloader (https://developer.blackberry.com/nat...0.0.10.263.exe) and am currently loading the new OS back to my Dev Alpha. It's still loading but I am hopeful it will work.
    r0v3rT3N likes this.
  9. mangelok's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    52 Posts
    #9  

    Default

    yeah, I did that too. Reloaded using the autoloader and it works fine.
  10. Ivan Renette's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    29 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #10  

    Default

    Indeed, it worked for me aswell, use the auto loader on the alpha dev site
  11. Ivan Renette's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    29 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #11  

    Default

    use the autoloader on the alpha dev site, it worked for me
  12. cbolton97's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    50 Posts
    Global Posts
    58 Global Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Autoloader doesn't work for me, it briefly connects to the device but then looses connection for some strange reason. Sad face.
    @cbolton97

    BlackBerry Z10 LE #207
  13. nsfgp's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Make sure you have the usb driver installed .... which is included with the Blackberry desktop software/Blackberry device manager; before the PC loader will work.
    And after you installed this new update ... you have to install the Blackberry Link software cause the old Desktop software will no longer work.
    Just want to remind for those who never used the PC loader before.
    Thanked by:
    araskin (01-31-2013) 
  14. Andrew4life's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,935 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,936 Global Posts
    #14  

    Default

    The dev alphas never like it when you wipe because I think a wipe is programmed as a complete device wipe instead of just data wipe. Or maybe it wipes some important data that kills the Dev Alphas on a specific date so it won't even boot.

    I believe the only way to fix is auto loader.
    Thanked by:
    araskin (01-31-2013) 
  15. Thunderbuck's Avatar

    Posts
    6,557 Posts
    Global Posts
    6,560 Global Posts
    PIN
    2B6927F7
    #15  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cbolton97 View Post
    Autoloader doesn't work for me, it briefly connects to the device but then looses connection for some strange reason. Sad face.
    Hey Chris,

    I dumbly ignored your advice and tried a wipe myself, and the same thing happened. BUT, I discovered something kind of cool: if you have the bootloader installed, AND you have Desktop Manager (yes, DM, not Link) open already, you can try restarting the device. In my particular case, I used the up-and-down volume button reset (may make a difference, not sure), and I noticed on one reboot the green LED lit, and DM told me there was an update available for the device; it's currently updating with the latest OS.
    “Never argue with a fool, onlookers may not be able to tell the difference.”

    --Mark Twain
    Thanked by:
    airbatross (02-02-2013) 
  16. bbz10dude's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #16  

    Default

    I've experienced the same issue after the Security Wipe. I've tried connecting with BB Link, DTM, and the Dev Alpha Autoloader using all the tricks thus far in this thread. I even tried older versions of the Dev Alpha Autoloader and I still can't seem to load an OS onto this device. I can get the Dev Alphaloader to load something onto the device and get a green LED light during the process, but when I turn it on, it just blinks red once, then a solid red LED and then turns off. I think I may have bricked it.
  17. nifty5#AC's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    24 Posts
    #17  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bbz10dude View Post
    I've experienced the same issue after the Security Wipe. I've tried connecting with BB Link, DTM, and the Dev Alpha Autoloader using all the tricks thus far in this thread. I even tried older versions of the Dev Alpha Autoloader and I still can't seem to load an OS onto this device. I can get the Dev Alphaloader to load something onto the device and get a green LED light during the process, but when I turn it on, it just blinks red once, then a solid red LED and then turns off. I think I may have bricked it.
    I had the same issue. Here is what I did to fix it. go here on your PC BlackBerry - Software Updates - New Update Software for BlackBerry Smartphones - US then see the "update software" which is the web desktop. click that and have the phone ready but without the battery installed. Once you plug the phone in give it a few seconds then install the battery once you see theicon that mens you dont have a battery installed. Once the battery is in there should be some level of activity and watch the web desktop do its work. My to was a brink until I did this.

    Good luck

Similar Threads

  1. I find secure wipe after 10x password attempts over the top
    By bitek in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 02-07-2013, 12:44 PM
  2. Security wipe after update help
    By FAUSTOOOPS in forum BlackBerry PlayBook OS
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-04-2012, 01:07 PM
  3. security wipe after android marketplace.
    By oXProskillzXo in forum PlayBook Rooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-09-2011, 05:21 PM
  4. Security Wipe removes OS updates?
    By lund in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-02-2011, 10:24 AM
  5. Phone "wiped" after OS update, please help
    By Durnandez in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-01-2011, 10:11 PM

Posting Permissions