Web-searching,
    I found one comment
    insightful:
    "Actually there is no difference.
    All these messengers are proprietary bulls**t, nobody really need.
    Use jabber / XMPP. For chat it is what HTTP is for the web.
    "
    It's a comment about XMPP, which allows interoperability -- the opposite of a closed,
    platform dependent messaging system.

I'm a novice with smartphones AND with may related subjects: mass texting is one.
    It seems that the big new web-based SMS services are growing fast because they
    bypass the $-per-text charge of many SMS and MMS systems. It seems that they
    are all expanding beyond texting so they make me think "leading towards BBM"

I went looking + learning about the latest batch of hopefuls. (cf alternativeto.net)
    Whatsapp, Skype, Talkatone, Fring, Facetime, Tango, Viber, Vtok, Liveprofile,
    Notes:
    It seems to me that (beyond SMSing) in every case the person you�re communicating to
    must have the same Software "X" installed, unless you pay $. ( Correct if this is wrong.)
    There are many ways to "SMS chat" / call / video to mobiles / PCs / Mac s all at same time.
    Some multiplatform more than others, better integrated to Google, Facebook, MSN, Yahoo.
    Some MMS capable (photo/ video/ audio note/ "share a contact" / share a location).
    Some "push notification" better than others. ETC.
    Skype/ Skypeout, Fring/ Fringout , Talkatone, Whatsapp, Nimbuzz, Imo, Gtalk, Vtok
    LINE = works on iPod Touch, iPad, PC, etc using either a phone # or an email address.
    Facetime = Apple only + only for video calls. On wifi, or wireless_better_than 3G
    Tango = Facetime alternative, works on 3G wireless too. Viber = iPhone only

BBM is a non-starter for me. So far.
    No-one I know has BBM. My z10 is my first smartphone.

Can BBM be morphed into something XMPP cross platform? This has been raised before,