Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27
Like Tree1Likes
  1. j_duffy's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Blackberry z10 sd card?!

    Hi guys,

    Just got myself a z10. It's saying everywhere that the maximum sd storage is 32GB, but iv read on some sites that I can put my 64 in. But I'm not sure as it says that it's only compatible with up to 32GB.

    Just wondering what I should do, how I should go about things

    Cheers guys!
  2. Rob Grieve's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    82 Posts
    Global Posts
    97 Global Posts
    #2  
    Thanked by 2:
    jimpilot (02-04-2013),  j_duffy (02-04-2013) 
  3. DPanacci's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    157 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    Yeah i was wondering the same thing myself, seems to be a lot of mixed information in regards to that. From the Crackberry review it says that 32 is supported but Kevin and the guys tried 64 and it worked.
    Thanked by:
    j_duffy (02-04-2013) 
  4. jimpilot's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,486 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,557 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    We've heard from Kevin that if you format it in the phone it will allow you to use all of the 64.
  5. MoolahMitch's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    315 Posts
    Global Posts
    316 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    The CrackBerry team stated you can use a 64GB card just format using the phone. I do this with my Android currently as I bought the card in anticipation of Z10. Just remember to back up anything you want to keep elsewhere.
    Regards,

    Moolah Mitch

    Z10 STL100-3/10.1.0.2354
    Playbook 16G 2.1.0.1526
    Playbook 64G 2.1.0.1526
  6. MoolahMitch's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    315 Posts
    Global Posts
    316 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob Grieve View Post
    For those too lazy to read it says "to use an SD card larger than 32GB in a BlackBerry 10 smartphone please re-format to FAT32."
    Regards,

    Moolah Mitch

    Z10 STL100-3/10.1.0.2354
    Playbook 16G 2.1.0.1526
    Playbook 64G 2.1.0.1526
  7. jimpilot's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,486 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,557 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob Grieve View Post

    Thanks for this. It is the first official I have read on it.
  8. j_duffy's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #8  

    Default

    Right thanks guys,
    So I just put my 64 in and it will work?
  9. Bla1ze's Avatar
    Editor in Chief

    Posts
    11,545 Posts
    Global Posts
    11,784 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default

    These are the only cards we tested and verified as working. The mobile versions specifically.

    Answers are easy. It's asking the right questions which is hard. - The Doctor

    [ Mobile Nations Sites: Android, iOS, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, Connectedly]
    Thanked by 2:
    FrycHiKn (04-11-2014),  j_duffy (02-04-2013) 
  10. j_duffy's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #10  

    Default

    Cheers thanks mate,

    This is the one I have, so I just put it into the slot and I'm sorted yeah?
  11. Bla1ze's Avatar
    Editor in Chief

    Posts
    11,545 Posts
    Global Posts
    11,784 Global Posts
    #11  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by j_duffy View Post
    Cheers thanks mate,

    This is the one I have, so I just put it into the slot and I'm sorted yeah?
    Put it in, format, good to go.
    Answers are easy. It's asking the right questions which is hard. - The Doctor

    [ Mobile Nations Sites: Android, iOS, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, Connectedly]
  12. jimpilot's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,486 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,557 Global Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bla1ze View Post
    Put it in, format, good to go.
    Only thing to be aware of is the card description says:


    Reformat into file system other than exFAT may cause instability


    Hopefully it won't be an issue.
  13. j_duffy's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #13  

    Default

    Do I format it to FAT32?
  14. j_duffy's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #14  

    Default

    Also, how do I format it on the z10?
  15. jimpilot's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,486 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,557 Global Posts
    #15  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by j_duffy View Post
    Do I format it to FAT32?
    From the Blackberry link above:

    To use an SD card larger than 32GB in a BlackBerry 10 smartphone please re-format to FAT32.
  16. j_duffy's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #16  

    Default

    Right sound, so is it easy to format, can I do it on my device or do I have to use my mac?
  17. BB-Marcus's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    169 Posts
    #17  

    Default

    [QUOTE=Bla1ze;7934100]These are the only cards we tested and verified as working. The mobile versions specifically.

    Expect its simply cosmetic but notice on the shop crackberry, the image just shows Sandisk Ultra as opposed to Mobile? Figured would check before ordering

    Cool shop front by the way
  18. pgg101's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    533 Posts
    Global Posts
    697 Global Posts
    #18  

    Default

    Do you know if this one would work:

    SanDisk Ultra 64GB Class 10 UHS-I microSDXC Card (SDSDQUI-064G-U46S) : SD, SDHC & SDXC Memory - Future Shop

    I ordered it over the weekend, but maybe I can cancel before it ships out if its not compatible

    tnx
    .
  19. canderson85's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    518 Posts
    #19  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pgg101 View Post
    Do you know if this one would work:

    SanDisk Ultra 64GB Class 10 UHS-I microSDXC Card (SDSDQUI-064G-U46S) : SD, SDHC & SDXC Memory - Future Shop

    I ordered it over the weekend, but maybe I can cancel before it ships out if its not compatible

    tnx
    .
    I got that exact card on Saturday. It works with my z10 and all the space is recognized

    Posted via CB10
  20. pgg101's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    533 Posts
    Global Posts
    697 Global Posts
    #20  

    Default

    Sweet. Thanks for responding. Great deal on Futureshop.ca that I couldn't refuse.

    Posted via CB10
  21. tg1
    tg1 is offline
    tg1's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    207 Posts
    #21  

    Default

    Looks like everyone is buying these - I just called Best Buy and Future Shop in Vancouver. All are sold out. Good deals. Maybe everyone with a BB 10 is upgrading to one of these.
  22. meierjn's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    133 Posts
    #22  

    Default

    I ordered 2 over the weekend. They shipped yesterday and should arrive today or tomorrow. I'm looking forward to the extra storage capacity.
  23. bmwbarrister's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    47 Posts
    #23  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimpilot View Post
    Only thing to be aware of is the card description says:


    Reformat into file system other than exFAT may cause instability


    Hopefully it won't be an issue.
    I was thinking the same and trying to decide between the 32 GB (HC FAT32) or 64 GB (XC exFAT) card. I wonder if anyone has an any issues with the card data being (over time) corrupt or lost. I'm leaning towards being safer with 32 GB. Thoughts?
  24. tg1
    tg1 is offline
    tg1's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    207 Posts
    #24  

    Default

    I've had my 64 gig in as per earlier posts. I did the reformat. All has worked great. My only comment is to do your back up from SD card to SD card on your computer and not from Computer to SD card on phone. This is where I had troubles. Otherwise you should be fine.

    Posted via CB10
  25. hrrmph's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    Global Posts
    4 Global Posts
    #25  

    Default

    When you format to FAT32 (as required for use in the Z10), you will be limited to files that are no larger than 4GB in size. If you want to use files larger than 4GB, you need exFAT (the default formatting that the Sandisk 64GB cards are shipping with).

    If you already own devices that use the 64GB cards in the exFAT format (I do) and you were hoping that you would be able to interchangeably swap the cards (I did), then it won't work. Your exFAT formatted cards must be kept out of the Blackberry Z10, as it will give you an error message and offer to reformat over your precious data (I didn't).

    Not nice Blackberry. Add exFAT support and fix this while you still can.

    -
    kazado likes this.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Is It Possible To Put Music On Blackberry Without Sd Card?
    By DollaBillz2009 in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-02-2014, 08:48 PM
  2. Blackberry 8530, SD Card access
    By Tmsimmons94 in forum BlackBerry Curve 85xx
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-06-2011, 06:01 PM
  3. Blackberry Storm SD card
    By Vanhaven in forum Introductions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-04-2009, 10:39 PM
  4. BlackBerry Micro SD card quick guide.
    By ghostshell in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-17-2009, 04:07 AM
  5. First Blackberry: Recommend SD card/Battery-Saving Apps?
    By Darren179 in forum BlackBerry OS Apps
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-06-2009, 10:17 PM

Posting Permissions