Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. Nindia's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    386 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default BES Data Plans with BES10/OS10 Devices

    I've searched far and wide and haven't been able to find a clear answer.

    Is a BES data plan still going to be required to use a device on a BES10 server?

    I travel a fair amount for work and one of the major reasons I still use a BlackBerry is because the data compression when I'm out of the country saves me hundreds (if not thousands) of dollars every year. I would like to know if we will still be able to route our work emails through RIM's NOC and take advantage of the compression? Or do I have to deal with the outrageous bills iPhone/Android users have to deal with?
  2. oufc_gav's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    88 Posts
    Global Posts
    119 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    Short answer is NO.
    Longer answer is that some carriers will still insist you have a 'Blackberry enterprise contract', but it doesn't have any technical reason its just a sales thing (or incompetence).
    If you have the BDS component of BES10 installed and activate on the BB10 device as a Work connection you will still get some data compression for Email and PIM sync over the normal Activesync compression.
  3. VariisNetworks's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    15 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    I've been told by my Bell rep that BES data plans are NOT required for the new BES 10.
    I am a Mobile Device Management consultant, focusing primarily on BlackBerry Enterprise Server with Exchange & Lotus Domino e-mail.
  4. Jackal99's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    4 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Have either of you tried it on Sasktel because I can tell you if you are provisioning with BES10 you will need the BES BB10 SOCK (SOC?) code added to you data plan otherwise you cannot activate wirelessly.
  5. oufc_gav's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    88 Posts
    Global Posts
    119 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jackal99 View Post
    Have either of you tried it on Sasktel because I can tell you if you are provisioning with BES10 you will need the BES BB10 SOCK (SOC?) code added to you data plan otherwise you cannot activate wirelessly.
    That is a local carrier oddity. Until I got the micro SIM through from my carrier I used the micro-SIM from another carrier that I was using with my iPad (definitely no BB service link) and it worked fine (including activation).
    Local carriers doing odd **** like this is really not going to help Blackberry, its not needed unless they have added an extra step in the way (you can activate over WiFi with no carrier involvement at all, so 100% doesn't need anything special done).
  6. AquaGoat's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    56 Posts
    #6  

    Default

    I think doing away with the BES data is the right move. What with BES10 and BB10 having such a strong BYOD focus it wouldn't make sense to make people change their data plan to join the corporate BES. Also I'm fairly sure if you added BES data to an iPhone or Android with the intent on joining the UDS you'd have a bad time, so standard data has to be the way to go.
  7. Sysgen's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    155 Posts
    #7  

    Default

    We had an issue where we could not do Wireless activations, it would come back with an error (Cannot contact server) with our Z10, but worked with Playbooks. It would only work with a USB connection. We contacted BBRY and here is what they told us,

    Thank you for contacting BlackBerry Technical Support.

    The specific plan is BlackBerry 10 Advance Service (SRV-ABB10). When we spoke the user was currently on a BlackBerry 10 Standard Service (SRV-SBB10).


    Now here is the thing, we contacted Rogers about it and they were not clear which one we had! At the same time we restarted our BES10 server and the problem was gone, so I'm not sure which solution fixed the problem but I find it odd that BBRY Support mentioned that. It almost looks like SRV-ABB10 is for BES and SRV-SBB10 is for BIS. Anyone have more info on this?
    Stephane
    BB9800. Z10
    Playbook 16G - The Wife
    Playbook 32G - Mine
  8. kill_9's Avatar
    Banned

    Posts
    5,168 Posts
    Global Posts
    5,169 Global Posts
    #8  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AquaGoat View Post
    I think doing away with the BES data is the right move. What with BES10 and BB10 having such a strong BYOD focus it wouldn't make sense to make people change their data plan to join the corporate BES. Also I'm fairly sure if you added BES data to an iPhone or Android with the intent on joining the UDS you'd have a bad time, so standard data has to be the way to go.
    You can get rid of the BES data plan and choose a generic data plan instead. Your thoughts on Android and iOS are on the mark.

    Posted via CB10 from the BlackBerry Z10

Similar Threads

  1. Blackberry Software Express vs Carrier Data Plan with BES
    By mudtoe in forum BlackBerry Administrators
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-18-2009, 05:29 PM
  2. New $45 300mb BES data plan!
    By stheoret in forum Rogers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-13-2008, 11:19 AM
  3. Do you HAVE to get a data plan with a BlackBerry??
    By TC2 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 06-14-2008, 02:00 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-03-2008, 08:32 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-23-2008, 04:50 PM

Posting Permissions