Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. keithgrey's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default BES 10 OTA works only when server address is manually entered

    Hello All,

    I have recently built a BES 10 as we are starting to test BB z10 devices.

    The issue i have come across is that I can activate my phones on the internal network wifi Settings > Accounts > Add Account > Email, Calendar and Contacts > Email Address then Activation password I am never prompted for the Server Address

    With OTA activation I have to go Settings > Accounts > Add Account > Email, Calendar and Contacts > Advanced > Work Account > UserID, Activation Password and Server Address

    On BES 5 we never had to enter the server address either.

    I know this must be something I have missed in my configuration but I need another "set of eyes" to point me in the right direction.

    Thanks everyone.

    Keith
    Thanked by:
    hariz casper (09-21-2013) 
  2. Sith_Apprentice's Avatar
    Mod Team Emeritus

    Posts
    10,164 Posts
    Global Posts
    10,167 Global Posts
    PIN
    Changes way too often
    #2  

    Default

    Make sure there isnt a port conflict with Enterprise management web services. Also make sure this service is started.
    ~S_A
    All views and opinions here are my own, and do not represent any views, opinions, or official communications either actual or implied of my employer.
  3. keithgrey's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    Services are Running and I cannot see any port conflicts.

    Please see screen shots.

    BES 10 OTA works only when server address is manually entered-bb-bds-config1.jpg

    BES 10 OTA works only when server address is manually entered-bb-management-studio-config.jpg

    BES 10 OTA works only when server address is manually entered-services.jpg
  4. Sith_Apprentice's Avatar
    Mod Team Emeritus

    Posts
    10,164 Posts
    Global Posts
    10,167 Global Posts
    PIN
    Changes way too often
    #4  

    Default

    It would be another service, such as McAffee enterprise, running on those ports. Check both 8444 and 8081


    Run the following from the cmd prompt (as an administrator)

    C:\ netstat –abo > c:\netstat_results.txt

    This will show you who/what is using those ports
    ~S_A
    All views and opinions here are my own, and do not represent any views, opinions, or official communications either actual or implied of my employer.
  5. keithgrey's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #5  

    Default

    I am seeing nothing on 8081 but this one

    [EMWS.exe]
    TCP 0.0.0.0:8444 GC-BES10:0 LISTENING 1372

    8444 im getting:

    Can not obtain ownership information
    TCP 10.10.97.45:42849 BES10:8444 TIME_WAIT 0

    Can not obtain ownership information
    TCP 10.10.97.45:42849 BES10:8444 TIME_WAIT 0

    [BAS-AS.exe]
    TCP 10.10.97.45:42809 BES10:8444 TIME_WAIT 0

    [EMWS.exe]
    TCP 0.0.0.0:8444 BES10:0 LISTENING 1372

    I currently have no AV and the only software installed are BDS and BB Management Studio
  6. keithgrey's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #6  

    Default

    I also am in Trial Mode. Does that make a difference at all?

    With my BES 5 server they do not have to enter server address (aka the SRP ID number).
  7. smoothrunnings's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,587 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,636 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    The first way you mentioned only works through your data plan so if you want to do it over your internal WiFi you must go the OTA route.

    That's because the first way talks to BBRY NOC to see if there is a server online with your company name/email and then figures out if the address is some other email address (not sure if this still goes through BBRY NOC's infrastructure or not.) I know this because while talking to BBRY T-Support regarding a BDS server issue they would check their servers logs and could see if the device was talking to BBRY NOC or not. When you put in the SRP ID in the OTA way it forces the device to go over the WIFI connection.
  8. Haris eka setiawan's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #8  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keithgrey View Post
    Hello All,

    I have recently built a BES 10 as we are starting to test BB z10 devices.

    The issue i have come across is that I can activate my phones on the internal network wifi Settings > Accounts > Add Account > Email, Calendar and Contacts > Email Address then Activation password I am never prompted for the Server Address

    With OTA activation I have to go Settings > Accounts > Add Account > Email, Calendar and Contacts > Advanced > Work Account > UserID, Activation Password and Server Address

    On BES 5 we never had to enter the server address either.

    I know this must be something I have missed in my configuration but I need another "set of eyes" to point me in the right direction.

    Thanks everyone.

    Keith
  9. smoothrunnings's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,587 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,636 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keithgrey View Post
    Hello All,

    I have recently built a BES 10 as we are starting to test BB z10 devices.

    The issue i have come across is that I can activate my phones on the internal network wifi Settings > Accounts > Add Account > Email, Calendar and Contacts > Email Address then Activation password I am never prompted for the Server Address

    With OTA activation I have to go Settings > Accounts > Add Account > Email, Calendar and Contacts > Advanced > Work Account > UserID, Activation Password and Server Address

    On BES 5 we never had to enter the server address either.

    I know this must be something I have missed in my configuration but I need another "set of eyes" to point me in the right direction.

    Thanks everyone.

    Keith
    BES 10 isn't BES 5. Please test the account using ActiveSync and not BES 10 to confirm ActiveSync is working correct for the BB10 device.
  10. higherdestiny's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    586 Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Port 443 open?
  11. MidnightSociety's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    129 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    I have had this issue before. Ensure EMWS is started on the BDS Core. If EMWS is not started policies and activations will not work.

    Posted via CB10
  12. jpvj's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,277 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by higherdestiny View Post
    Port 443 open?
    I agree. BES 10 registers the users email address with the BlackBerry infrastructure using an outbound TCP connection to port 443.
    Pls. verify your firewall allows outgoing connections according to to KB34193-Configuring network firewalls to work with BlackBerry Enterprise Service 10 version 10.1

Similar Threads

  1. Trackpad Not Working ONLY when Keyboard is open
    By pmhabe in forum BlackBerry Torch 9800
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-24-2012, 04:57 AM
  2. Meeting request being bounced back by OLD bb server address
    By corbb in forum BlackBerry Administrators
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-22-2011, 11:43 PM
  3. Trackball issue - works only when pressed down
    By jontadmor in forum BlackBerry Bold 9000
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-09-2010, 08:07 AM
  4. Notified only when original post is updated?
    By PeekPoke in forum Site News, Feedback, Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-14-2009, 09:12 PM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-19-2009, 12:46 PM

Posting Permissions