Results 1 to 21 of 21
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Mikey Gardner
  • 1 Post By JWWDUKE
  • 1 Post By Marauder2
  1. Mikey Gardner's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    50 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Can't change song with volume button :(

    This is one feature I would like to see in a future update as I used it quite a bit on my old BlackBerrys, but to make this post legit I did notice you CAN pause the music with the voice recognition button in between the volume buttons if you didn't know already.

    Posted on my Z10
  2. Marauder2's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    550 Posts
    Global Posts
    553 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    Go to settings -> System volume -> enable the music shortcuts under Volume Keys, that should do the trick for you. There was even an article on it posted on the main page not too long ago.


    Edit - Found the article, has pictures too. How to enable music shortcuts on your BlackBerry 10 smartphone | CrackBerry.com
    Thanked by 4:
    bunky1971 (04-01-2013),  fastpitch_dad (05-24-2013),  Gp2mv3 (04-07-2013),  KingOfQwerty (02-24-2014) 
  3. JWWDUKE's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    722 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    Yup it's there, but not turned on by default. go into settings, then system volume, and slide that slider for Volume keys Music shortcuts. BOOM
  4. JWWDUKE's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    722 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    ya beat me Marauder2. You win THIS round!
    Thanked by:
    todbanner (04-12-2013) 
    todbanner likes this.
  5. Marauder2's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    550 Posts
    Global Posts
    553 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JWWDUKE View Post
    ya beat me Marauder2. You win THIS round!
    Haha game on!
    todbanner likes this.
  6. Mikey Gardner's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    50 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #6  

    Default

    Never saw that article but thanks that makes it much nicer

    Posted on my Z10
  7. pmachado's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    82 Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Just realized this feature. Awesome!

    CB10 from Z10
  8. WolvieMkM's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    101 Posts
    PIN
    I don't like you in that way
    #8  

    Default

    Has anyone tried this on their head unit in the car? I'm able to get the keys to work with/without headphones but when I hook up the AUX in the car the keys don't work. Kind of annoying since the car is kind of the place I don't really want to have to look at my phone.
  9. WolvieMkM's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    101 Posts
    PIN
    I don't like you in that way
    #9  

    Default

    Well I guess I spoke too soon as it worked fine on the way home. I think there is a bug in the media player somewhere though as the buttons don't always work and the display has the wrong song up at times in addition to my original issue. Meh, Minor stuff that will no doubt get sorted.
  10. Winston Loh's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    234 Posts
    Global Posts
    238 Global Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Great tip - useful indeed.
  11. heading4tomorrow's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,731 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,038 Global Posts
    #11  

    Default

    Can you use the volume rocker to skip songs while the phone is locked? There was a bug on OS 7.0 that locked the skip/previous function of the volume rocker, hopefully not the case with BB10.
  12. WolvieMkM's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    101 Posts
    PIN
    I don't like you in that way
    #12  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heading4tomorrow View Post
    Can you use the volume rocker to skip songs while the phone is locked? There was a bug on OS 7.0 that locked the skip/previous function of the volume rocker, hopefully not the case with BB10.
    Yes you can thankfully!
    Thanked by:
    heading4tomorrow (03-25-2013) 
  13. omega supreme's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    677 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JWWDUKE View Post
    Yup it's there, but not turned on by default. go into settings, then system volume, and slide that slider for Volume keys Music shortcuts. BOOM
    It should be noted that it doesn't work when streaming music...oh well, maybe in an update.
  14. heading4tomorrow's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,731 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,038 Global Posts
    #14  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by omega supreme View Post
    It should be noted that it doesn't work when streaming music...oh well, maybe in an update.
    It worked in BB5 with Pandora, I am sure it will work once we get (if we get) native pandora app.
    I got my hopes up and tried it with sideloaded pandora bar, nope it did not work with it either.
  15. omega supreme's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    677 Posts
    #15  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heading4tomorrow View Post
    It worked in BB5 with Pandora, I am sure it will work once we get (if we get) native pandora app.
    I got my hopes up and tried it with sideloaded pandora bar, nope it did not work with it either.
    Maybe so, but this is the os10 forum and i've tried it with just about every streaming music app and it doesn't work...in which case it makes me believe it's not the developer's fault as much as it is the os. So even if we get a native pandora before an os update, i doubt it will work.
  16. heading4tomorrow's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,731 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,038 Global Posts
    #16  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by omega supreme View Post
    Maybe so, but this is the os10 forum and i've tried it with just about every streaming music app and it doesn't work...in which case it makes me believe it's not the developer's fault as much as it is the os. So even if we get a native pandora before an os update, i doubt it will work.
    Like which streaming apps?

    Posted via CB10

    STL-100-3 (Z10) 10.2.1.1925 10.2.1.2156
    STA-100-5 (Z30) SW: 10.2.1.2102 | OS:10.2.1.2141 | Radio: 10.2.1.2142
    RD121WW (Playbook) 2.1.0.1753

    Caller ID / Contact name not displayed on incoming call
  17. omega supreme's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    677 Posts
    #17  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heading4tomorrow View Post
    Like which streaming apps?

    Posted via CB10
    Slacker (although it just crashes now), songzaa, nobex, ...those are the only free ones that i know of.
  18. misterBB84's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    20 Posts
    #18  

    Default

    Only works on the native media player...I have the same issue with the volume buttons not skipping tracks on streaming apps such as songza or nobex...hope a fix is coming soon

    Posted via CB10
  19. Alan Laderoute's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #19  

    Default

    works with songza on my Q10 and with the native music player, but doesn't work with Slacker...
    get with the program slacker!
  20. cincibluer6's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    60 Posts
    #20  

    Default

    Awesome feature. Quite handy.
  21. def_vlad's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    63 Posts
    #21  

    Default

    Thank you, this is very useful.

    Posted via CB10

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with volume buttons
    By dejanh in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-09-2012, 09:08 PM
  2. Screen issue with volume buttons
    By weeman in forum BlackBerry Bold 9000
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-05-2011, 04:07 PM
  3. BB Torch: Problem with volume button
    By fquinonez in forum BlackBerry Torch 9800
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-04-2010, 01:05 PM
  4. Problem with volume buttons
    By jaykull in forum Sprint
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-01-2009, 02:29 PM
  5. How can I get these internal volume buttons fixed?
    By soisCB in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-03-2009, 05:59 PM

Posting Permissions