Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 24 of 24
Like Tree4Likes
  • 4 Post By kraems17
  1. kraems17's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    41 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Automator App for Sideloading Android Apps on Mac

    Hey All,

    To make my life easier, I took the time to write a little Automator application to make it easier to sideload the apps on my Playbook and Z10. If you follow the instructions for getting the Playbook_Tools installed on your Mac, then you just drop this automator app in the Playbook_Tools directory, double-click it to run and go from there.

    Check out the How-To Video here:



    And grab the Automator app here.

    Enjoy!
    Former 8yr BB owner coming back with a Z10

    Past Phones: 8700r - 8100 - 8300 - 8310 - 9000 - 9800 - iPhone 4 32GB - White Z10 80GB
    Tablets: iPad 1 32GB, Playbook 16GB, iPad Mini 64GB
    Thanked by 8:
    Adam Zeis (02-07-2013),  hannibalmoot (03-14-2013),  icehouse0683 (04-20-2013),  j4y (03-18-2013),  jinxednuance (02-07-2013),  pels_17 (03-10-2013),  Tonny Joost (02-08-2013),  Tony_11 (03-17-2013) 
  2. Adam Zeis's Avatar
    Administrator

    Posts
    2,892 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,119 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    Good stuff! Thanks for this!
  3. kraems17's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    41 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    My pleasure. Thanks for your easy to understand how-to blog post.
    Former 8yr BB owner coming back with a Z10

    Past Phones: 8700r - 8100 - 8300 - 8310 - 9000 - 9800 - iPhone 4 32GB - White Z10 80GB
    Tablets: iPad 1 32GB, Playbook 16GB, iPad Mini 64GB
  4. Schoshaii's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    96 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Doesn't work for me. Won't show the IP address box
  5. kraems17's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    41 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #5  

    Default

    Are you able to run other automator scripts?
    Former 8yr BB owner coming back with a Z10

    Past Phones: 8700r - 8100 - 8300 - 8310 - 9000 - 9800 - iPhone 4 32GB - White Z10 80GB
    Tablets: iPad 1 32GB, Playbook 16GB, iPad Mini 64GB
  6. mainman1303's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    308 Posts
    Global Posts
    311 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    works a treat! cheers for the script!
  7. EggTarts's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    41 Posts
    Global Posts
    42 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Looks like a charm!

    Thanks!
  8. Smartie020's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    782 Posts
    #8  

    Default

    is version 1.1.1 the newest?
  9. kraems17's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    41 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Smartie020 View Post
    is version 1.1.1 the newest?
    Yep. That's the latest.
    Former 8yr BB owner coming back with a Z10

    Past Phones: 8700r - 8100 - 8300 - 8310 - 9000 - 9800 - iPhone 4 32GB - White Z10 80GB
    Tablets: iPad 1 32GB, Playbook 16GB, iPad Mini 64GB
    Thanked by:
    Smartie020 (03-12-2013) 
  10. Arie Anugrah's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #10  

    Default Unable to access jarfile BarDep*loy.jar

    Hi,

    I tried to sideloade for BBZ10 using Mac, and all steps has been taken per instruction, but always fail and keep seeing "Unable to access jar file BarDeploy.jar.
    Please help..thanks

    Arie
  11. kraems17's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    41 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #11  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arie Anugrah View Post
    Hi,

    I tried to sideloade for BBZ10 using Mac, and all steps has been taken per instruction, but always fail and keep seeing "Unable to access jar file BarDeploy.jar.
    Please help..thanks

    Arie
    Hi Arie,

    Do you have the Playbook_Tools directory installed in your userhome directory? Usually that's why the script can't find the .jar file, as it is looking in that directory for everything to be installed. Take a look at Adam's post here and make sure you follow his install directions and the automator should work. Let me know if you run into more problems.

    Thanks.
    Former 8yr BB owner coming back with a Z10

    Past Phones: 8700r - 8100 - 8300 - 8310 - 9000 - 9800 - iPhone 4 32GB - White Z10 80GB
    Tablets: iPad 1 32GB, Playbook 16GB, iPad Mini 64GB
  12. Smartie020's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    782 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Hi. I'm having problems loading android apps on my bbz10. But first of all the connection always drops between the BlackBerry and Mac. I don't know why that's happening. One time it seemed to work and i tried side loading apps. Thought it was successfully but the apps weren't on the z19 when I looked for them.

    Posted via CB10
  13. Smartie020's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    782 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    I did it. My fault^^ THX anyway for this app.

    Still having trouble connecting my Z10 to BB Link though :/ BB Link cuts the connection between Z10 and my Mac.
  14. kraems17's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    41 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #14  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Smartie020 View Post
    I did it. My fault^^ THX anyway for this app.

    Still having trouble connecting my Z10 to BB Link though :/ BB Link cuts the connection between Z10 and my Mac.
    No worries. Glad to hear you've sorted it out.
    Former 8yr BB owner coming back with a Z10

    Past Phones: 8700r - 8100 - 8300 - 8310 - 9000 - 9800 - iPhone 4 32GB - White Z10 80GB
    Tablets: iPad 1 32GB, Playbook 16GB, iPad Mini 64GB
  15. Tony_11's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    43 Posts
    Global Posts
    44 Global Posts
    #15  

    Default

    Great Job! A big thanks from a fellow CB member!
  16. j4y
    j4y is offline
    j4y's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    17 Posts
    #16  

    Default

    nice work, makes an easy task easier
    BB #1 = 7290 <every device in between> Now = Z10
  17. Redjakk1's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    14 Posts
    PIN
    2A5911AA
    #17  

    Default

    When I double-click it, the Prompt for the IP Address doesn't show, can you help?
  18. HMTATL's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #18  

    Default

    Thanks a lot kraems17....

    Posted via CB10
  19. kraems17's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    41 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #19  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Redjakk1 View Post
    When I double-click it, the Prompt for the IP Address doesn't show, can you help?
    Are you able to run other automator scripts?
    Former 8yr BB owner coming back with a Z10

    Past Phones: 8700r - 8100 - 8300 - 8310 - 9000 - 9800 - iPhone 4 32GB - White Z10 80GB
    Tablets: iPad 1 32GB, Playbook 16GB, iPad Mini 64GB
  20. blenheimpalace's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    62 Posts
    #20  

    Default

    ok,
    so I followed all your instructions, the Automator appears to have worked, BUT i can't find my app on the device. (Google Maps) is there another step missing?
  21. kraems17's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    41 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #21  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blenheimpalace View Post
    ok,
    so I followed all your instructions, the Automator appears to have worked, BUT i can't find my app on the device. (Google Maps) is there another step missing?
    Hi - did you see a Status: Success message in the terminal window? If so, the app should have loaded. The Google Maps icon is the blue triangle. Are you able to load other apps with the automator app?
    Former 8yr BB owner coming back with a Z10

    Past Phones: 8700r - 8100 - 8300 - 8310 - 9000 - 9800 - iPhone 4 32GB - White Z10 80GB
    Tablets: iPad 1 32GB, Playbook 16GB, iPad Mini 64GB
  22. PHughes's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    736 Posts
    #22  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arie Anugrah View Post
    Hi,

    I tried to sideloade for BBZ10 using Mac, and all steps has been taken per instruction, but always fail and keep seeing "Unable to access jar file BarDeploy.jar.
    Please help..thanks

    Arie
    Be sure you are changing directories to the one housing the BarDeploy.jar app before running the command to sideload an app. Fore example: cd PlayBook_tools
  23. Ventoline's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #23  

    Default

    Works fine for me! Thanks a lot man!

    Posted via CB10
  24. SackHarry's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    326 Posts
    PIN
    666
    #24  

    Default

    fixed it. never mind
    Last edited by SackHarry; 12-14-2013 at 09:16 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Is there any dedicated website for sideloaded Android app for playbook?
    By khushalbhadra in forum PlayBook Android App Sideloading
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 06-13-2012, 10:32 PM
  2. Is there any dedicated website for sideloaded Android app for playbook?
    By khushalbhadra in forum PlayBook Apps & Games
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 06-12-2012, 09:09 AM
  3. App for sideloading Andoids Apps?
    By scottsizzle in forum PlayBook Android App Sideloading
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-20-2011, 01:34 PM
  4. Sideload Android Apps on OS 2.0 ?
    By thisdudenick in forum PlayBook Android App Sideloading
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-11-2011, 08:32 AM
  5. Sideload Android Apps on OS 2.0 ?
    By thisdudenick in forum PlayBook Apps & Games
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-11-2011, 06:24 AM

Posting Permissions