Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By chrysaurora
  • 2 Post By Brian Scheirer
  • 1 Post By Brian Scheirer
  • 2 Post By chrysaurora
    CrackBerry Master

Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Question Is there a newbie development guide?

I haven't done any development for a long long time. I did CS in school (mostly C++ and some Python/Java) but it has been a long time and I have been working in project management since. But I used to like development assignments in school. With BB10, it has piqued my interest again and I'd like to develop for BB. Or maybe use something like Titanium to develop cross platform app.

Is there a complete newbie guide? Although I know some coding, I'd like it if the guide assumed that I had no prior knowledge of any coding (neither web, nor desktop coding). I'd like the guide to cover this:
    -> Setting up development environment (install x, install y, configure x, configure y along with explanation of why x and y are being installed in the first place)
    -> step by step development of one or two apps
    -> step by step process of re-factoring these apps you just developed
    -> step by step illustration of adding some new features to example apps you just developed
    I'd like to see lots of screenshots and code snippets.

Is there such a guide? If so, do tell!
    ------------------------
    Dear BlackBerry::

---------------------
    MoolahMitch likes this.
    CrackBerry Genius

PIN
    Available upon request.

Start here and choose your developing enviroment.

https://developer.blackberry.com/

After that, RIM has done a great job of providing examples and steps for making an app.

Their GitHub has great examples.
    XoXoXo
    CrackBerry Master

Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

Thanks. I saw the site. Several development environment options there.