i wanted to know if Telus rents cellular towers from Bell
    11-24-14 09:59 AM
    I am no expert, but as I understand it, one entity owns a tower (one of the carriers, or a third party) and all of the other carriers pay to put up their antenna.

I have noticed most cell towers have many, many satellite receivers and antennas on them.

So my non-expert answer is "yes, probably sometimes"

Posted via CB10
    11-24-14 10:05 AM
    i wanted to know if Telus rents cellular towers from Bell
    It's a deeper relationship than that: Telus and Bell both co-own their LTE network and built it out together. They joined together in 2009 because their older networks could not run iPhones and Rogers could. (Bell & Telus used to run "CDMA" which is a competing technology to "GSM". GSM is where you have a SIM in your phone; CDMA phones were hard-wired to a network by their serial number (IMEI) )

There is some background information here if you're into that: Telus and Bell?s wireless partnership still a sore spot for competitors | Financial Post
    raino and bspence87 like this.
    11-24-14 10:16 AM
    It's a deeper relationship than that: Telus and Bell both co-own their LTE network and built it out together. They joined together in 2009 because their older networks could not run iPhones and Rogers could. (Bell & Telus used to run "CDMA" which is a competing technology to "GSM". GSM is where you have a SIM in your phone; CDMA phones were hard-wired to a network by their serial number (IMEI) )

There is some background information here if you're into that: Telus and Bell?s wireless partnership still a sore spot for competitors | Financial Post
    Interesting. Thanks for that link. I have a couple of questions: