I've been using the blackberry curve for about 3 1/2 years. About 9 months ago, it started working really slowly, and the problem is getting worse. I replaced the battery but the Curve never regained its original alacrity. The removable memory chip/card has lots of data on it, and I'm wondering if that is the problem. I phoned Blackberry but they don't want to talk about the Curve at all. Any insight or experience would be great. Thanks.
    01-26-17 10:30 AM
    yes you should replace the memory card with a bigger and faster one

Sent from my BlackBerry 9790 using Tapatalk
    01-26-17 11:03 AM
    Well, obviously a battery has nothing to do with a phone's performance/speed. Every OS slows up as time goes by, although my Curve 9360 was still fast after two and a half years of heavy use. If you are referring to your microSD card, again no, it doesn't really affect anything but the specific apps using it (id est, the Music app or the universal search, but only really at some extent).

Now, what can actually slow up your phone are a full internal memory and... the OS itself. You should perform a backup of your phone with the BlackBerry Desktop Manager, make a manual backup of your most important files too (never say never) and swap-out your SD card. Then reload the OS (if you have no idea how to do it, search for it on Google or on CrackBerry). At the end of the process, your phone should be as smooth as it used to. Formatting a device is a common procedure when the system becomes bloated and too slow.
    01-26-17 11:05 AM
    Thanks. I imagine you know what the card looks like: it's about 1/4 inch by 1/4 inch, and it slips into the back of the Curve. Where should I go to get a card with more memory? Sorry for being such a luddite.
    01-26-17 11:05 AM