first off I will apologize if this is not the right place to ask this, and for most here the answer will be blatantly obvious but before I spend a pile of money I just want to be sure!

I am about to buy a new phone for my 17 yr old and I have never dealt with ordering a factory unlocked phone online before. My son is upgrading from an old iPhone 4 and he wants a Sony Xperia Z3 (the PS4 remote play is important lol )and instead of going to Telus, signing a 2-year contract and having to pay more than twice for a equivalent plan to what he has I want to just buy a phone outright.

is it just as simple as buying the phone (direct from Sony.ca) and a new sim card from Telus? As I said I have never done this before - I have always dealt with in-store reps so I would like to make sure it'll work before I drop over 700 bucks!

(and for the record I am a diehard Blackberry user, as is my wife but we couldnt convince him to switch, we tried lol. )

Thanks for your help!
    03-13-15 12:57 PM
    first off I will apologize if this is not the right place to ask this, and for most here the answer will be blatantly obvious but before I spend a pile of money I just want to be sure!

I am about to buy a new phone for my 17 yr old and I have never dealt with ordering a factory unlocked phone online before. My son is upgrading from an old iPhone 4 and he wants a Sony Xperia Z3 (the PS4 remote play is important lol )and instead of going to Telus, signing a 2-year contract and having to pay more than twice for a equivalent plan to what he has I want to just buy a phone outright.

is it just as simple as buying the phone (direct from Sony.ca) and a new sim card from Telus? As I said I have never done this before - I have always dealt with in-store reps so I would like to make sure it'll work before I drop over 700 bucks!

(and for the record I am a diehard Blackberry user, as is my wife but we couldnt convince him to switch, we tried lol. )

Thanks for your help!