I'm a college student looking for a new phone. Tired of android devices/software and I am not planning on getting an iphone. I feel that android devices are not suited for "work" but for mostly "play." I was planning on purchasing a Nokia Lumia 1525 or 1020 but my professor recommended a BlackBerry Passport . I've used a BlackBerry device before (Pearl) now I've been using Samsung devices. Is,the BlackBerry Passport a good phone for a college student? Do you recommend another BlackBerry device?
    11-10-14 09:10 PM
    As a student the Passport is definitely a great device when it comes to viewing documents such as lecture slides on powerpoint or reading emails sent out by Profs. However if you are not a fan of either ios or Android, and you are choosing between Windows and BlackBerry, I would take Windows. I love my Passport, however being a student not too long ago, I remember how important apps were for my study's.

BlackBerry is not getting Office apps like Excel,Word and Powerpoint. Sideloading the APK does not work as there are small issues within the app making it unusable (and you will have to keep dealing with work arounds constantly). So if you want a phone that just works and will have a growing ecosystem of apps then I say go with Windows.
    11-10-14 09:16 PM
    A professor recommended you the Passport?
    Where do you live? It's not US i bet.
    11-10-14 09:19 PM
    Agreed! Especially if you want attention besides all the great things it does!

Blackberry Passport running 10.3.1.1016
    11-10-14 09:19 PM
    MS office works flawlessly. I am using a 10.3.1 though. As does one Note.

Both my kids are in university and use Z10 and upgrading to passport.

Posted via CB10
    11-10-14 09:20 PM

Posted via CB10
    Can I be your kid?
    11-10-14 09:21 PM