I am an Emergency Medicine Physician, and this week our annual meeting took place at McCormick Place in Chicago. There were approximately 7000 professionals in attendance at the 4-day event, the vast majority of which were physicians of ages 25-65. From my observations most were not carrying BlackBerrys. There were hundreds of exhibitors, many of which were in the medical technology space showing the gamut of new software and tools to both care for patients as well as make physicians more productive. There was at least one company that specializes in connecting mobile healthcare providers by providing secure communications between smartphones and other devices. Yes BlackBerry would have fit right in.

Now I was not expecting to see BlackBerry at the conference. First of all my medical specialty is relatively small compared to some of the other larger areas of medicine, so there may be other venues that would offer even greater opportunity for the BlackBerry sales staff. And although I am aware that BlackBerry talks about having a presence in the medical space, such as that commercial that shows a chest x-ray on the Passport, I have not seen the results of that effort so far.