I think that is why john chen is pursuing the Foxconn deal. Using a larger manufacturer will bring costs down. It is strange then that Apple has never done that even though they could.

Posted via CB10
    Why should they? All working out great for them with premium pricing strategy!

Posted via CB10
    JeepBB likes this.
    12-29-13 02:32 PM
    The OP makes a very valid point though. I work in retail, and man our prepaid Nokias have been flying off the shelf ever since we started carrying them. I'm a fan of Microsoft and I'm glad to see them doing well, and without a doubt, these cheap Lumias are helping Windows Phone move along well. The AT&T and T-Mobile variants really do sell out as quick as we get them. 4G and sufficient functionality, they already outperform these cheap Androids where they're still sticking ICS or Jelly Bean on 600-800mhz hardware. To put it another way, I definitely could not see harming BlackBerry's sales to try and create a modern BB10 device on the cheap, but the initial cost who knows. Nokia seems to be highly successful with these phones so far, but they've got Nokia and Microsoft money to have started the ball rolling too.

I should also mention one of our newer guys has the 521 and I've been able to see it hands-on. There are a few games that require more RAM, the store will tell you that you need more when you try to download it, but that's it. There is no in-between, the performance for everything else it does run is great. Didn't see a bit of lag in anything. That is a great formula for selling on the cheap.

Posted from BitPusher's Q10