I've had my 8830 WE (Verizon) since last October, and I'm simply bored with it. My contract ends next October, and I'd rather not force my father to pay an early-termination fee just so I can switch to AT&T to get an iPhone (although I desperately wish I could). So here's what I was thinking:
    a) downgrade my BB to an old VZW Razr I have laying around my apartment and buy an iPod touch.
    Upside: I'll have the touch (Safari + iCal), and no more paying for BB data
    Downside: Waste of a BB (it would replace the Razr in the junk drawer), and it's still no iPhone.

b) Wait it out for another year
    Upside: save dad some $
    Downside: another year with this boring phone...

c) Buy a new phone line on AT&T to get the iPhone.
    Even though I'll be getting what I want, this will leave pops with 2 bills (and paying Verizon $10/month for a phone line no one will be using)

A little background info.: I'm a 19 y/o college student. I probably send/receive no more than 10 text messages per month (even that sounds a little high...). I use email much more often (school and personal). I've really been itching for Apple's mobile Safari browser, and I'm no longer satisfied with my BB (haven't been for some time now)
    10-25-08 12:31 PM
    a) downgrade my BB to an old VZW Razr I have laying around my apartment and buy an iPod touch.
    Upside: I'll have the touch (Safari + iCal), and no more paying for BB data
    Downside: Waste of a BB (it would replace the Razr in the junk drawer), and it's still no iPhone.
    iPodT only has wifi, so unless u are in wifi area, its not gonna be exactly the most relaible email client. But iCal will be fine.

b) Wait it out for another year
    Upside: save dad some $
    Downside: another year with this boring phone...