I just went to the Verizon store to try out the iPhone 4s. It's a fine device, but I don't feel that it's much of an upgrade over the iP4 unless CDMA+GSM and/or Siri are important to you.

After a hyped up Apple campaign, I brought the expectations to the shop and was a bit underwhelmed.

I like the way Siri is closely integrated to the system to write notes and more generally replace the keyboard, but it is far from being 100% from accepting my natural speech. I speak with no accent, not even a New York accent, so I expected a little better. But the idea of voice dictatation is something I've been yelling about for the past 2 years and at least Apple had to guts to implement it to this stage. I can dictate on my Android as well to type, but Android can't answer "Will it rain this afternoon?" Overall, it's a nice feature to have, especially for looking up information quickly, which is probably the reason I have a smartphone and not a basic phone.

The Verizon 3G network is adequate, but the iP4s' speeds are far inferior to the 4G phones. Latency and load times do not compare. Maybe the HSPA+ designation for GSM plays out better on AT&T, but with their service, you'll know when someone is talking on a smartphone (garble garble). In AT&T's case, they should offer a data-only plan for the iPhone since the voice part is so unreliable.

The screen is great ... for pictures. I have to zoom into a lot of the text for my eyes to read comfortably. This iP4 will have its users wearing big rimmed glasses. There is no text reflow for zoomed/enlarged text, and scrolling is inconvenient. The screen is also a bit small. Sometimes I have to think to myself.. it's for the most part, just a phone.

The camera is good, but I won't go far as to say amazing. The most amazing part is how fast you can take a picture from app launch to camera shutter. For those with BB and Androids, you are familiar with the lags from launching the camera app. I hope they fix that for newer devices.