Ok, I've read a lot about how folks say email is not as good on the iPhone as on a BlackBerry, but would like some clarification please. This is not a knock against iPhone users, as I'm not a techie, and would just like to understand a little more about why people say this because I will be considering an iPhone when my contract is up.

So, for example, I currently have about a half a dozen email accounts (yahoo, hotmail, aol, gmail, etc.) pushed directly through a Blackberry BIS server to my Pearl. The email is instantaeous, and I get them as soon as they are sent (sometimes showing up on my Blackberry even faster than it shows up on my home computer while logged into the email account). Is it true that for the iPhone, this is not possible unless you subscribe to MobileMe? If you subscribe to MobileMe, can I get all my email accounts listed above pushed to the iPhone, or will I still have to have some accounts pull email every 15 minutes?

If it is the case that the iPhone can't handle push email well, what is the reason? I mean- is there a copyright or some other type of infringement clause that prevents Apple from copying RIM's BIS type server setup? I like all the nice fancy user interface features of the iPhone, but also need reliable email, and would prefer to NOT have to pay for email service above what the contract will cost with AT&T, unless it will provide me with at least the same kind of email push service I'm getting with a Blackberry from all my different accounts. Is this possible with the iPhone, or do I need to give up some email functionality for the better media experience? Thanks in advance.
    01-02-09 12:19 PM
    On the iPhone email pushes to Yahoo accounts instantly. Other account have to be pulled at the selected time frame. Some people (as a workaround) have their mail forwarded to their yahoo accounts so that way everything is instantly received.