Why are people so stuck on BBM...I keep hearing all they need is BBM....Droid has gtalk so much more wide open for the pure fact that you can put ANYone on it with a gmail addy. BBM is restricted to BB users....which are lessening by the days...sigh....odd.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    10-08-10 12:06 PM
    it's just fanboi/elitism is all. don't get me wrong, i love BBM, but much prefer other messengers such as google talk, yahoo, aim, etc.
    10-08-10 12:49 PM
    For me it's because it is encrypted, works great communicating internationally since its tunneled back to US and it is included in bb international plan. I send pictures, passwords, whatever and it's safe. Since my boss wants to be able to reach me via BBM, that's what I gotta have. Don't get me wrong I'm a tech geek and have always had the latest/greatest, and would love to be able to try out a Droid or iPhone, but unfortunately I need a device that does BBM and that limits me to BB.
    10-08-10 01:02 PM
    oh snap...
    10-08-10 01:24 PM
    I don't think bbm over bis has quite the same level of security it does over bes. That having been said, bbm was an awesome way to share files up to ~ 6mb. Talk needs to add some sort of file transfer protocol, and then it would be absolutely perfect.
    10-09-10 03:10 AM
    Interesting answers see I hardly ever used BBM....never had that many fellow phone users with BBs stuck with good old Yahoo up until my Droid.

10-09-10 08:23 AM
    Also, many users on a BES cannot install third party IM applications.
    10-09-10 10:45 AM
    BBM may not be as important to all, but for some people who have many BBM contacts or belong to social groups through BBM, the feature becomes very important. Its like being on Facebook and then not being able to contact those people through Facebook anymore. Some friends I only contact through BBM. So it becomes important in that sense. But that isn't the situation for all BB users.

10-09-10 10:58 AM