On the BB we upgrade as new OS's become available. As android offers new OS's on new models in the future are we stuck with what's on. our phone when we got it?

Also, like the BB, can we wipe and reload the OS on the Droid like we do with the BB when things get screwed up?

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    Last edited by hal1; 11-19-09 at 05:26 PM.
    11-19-09 02:48 PM
    On the BB we upgrade as new OS's become available. As android offers new OS's on new models in the future are we stuck with what's on. our phone when we got it?

Also, like the BB, can we wipe and reload the OS on the Droid like we do with the BB when things get screwed up?

I hope we can. I'm new to Droid so anyone with experience please let us know.
    11-19-09 03:19 PM
    We are not stuck with the OS that the phone comes with. The Droid is already getting an update in December.

As far as an end user loading/reloading software on the phone, that would require rooting the phone, as well as the software to load on the phone. Something that isn't currently available.

11-19-09 03:49 PM
    As far as an end user loading/reloading software on the phone, that would require rooting the phone, as well as the software to load on the phone. Something that isn't currently available.
    So we can brick our Droid?
    11-19-09 05:22 PM
    You can brick the Droid easier than you think.... I've had a few customers convert from Blackberry devices to the Droid that when the Droid gave them an issue they pulled the battery out with the phone on... The fixall for the blackberry device but it Bricked their Droid's. Which is why we do the Control + ALT + DEL to restart the Droid. (Shift Key, Alt, Del) I do know that the open source nature of the device allows for the phone to be updated.
    11-19-09 05:34 PM
    I just downloaded an upgrade for my hero yesterday. I just wonder if these updates will be as frequent as the blackberries.

11-19-09 07:08 PM